The Trifecta of Art Fairs ~ SF Arts Fair | artMRKT | ArtPad & EXCITING STUFF

This is Your Brain Shopping (left), This is Your Brain on Art (right) Credit: Wikimedia Commons

I learned a phrase a several months ago – FOMO. It stands for ‘Fear of Missing Out’. However, suffering from FOMO is inevitable for creative types. We constantly need stimulation to get everything going. In my last post, I wrote about taking a break (because they are important). Well, you know what happens when you take a break, right (besides being well rested)? A deluge of ideas and inspiration (and events) present themselves! I took a break at the most opportune time. Perfect timing, actually. Last weekend, I went to The Phoenix Hotel to check out the San Francisco Art Institute (SFAI) 2012 Vernissage show. The MFA exhibition had a handful of exceptional and VERY promising artists in the showcase. Overall, the collective energy was impressive and, as one current graduate student put it, the ‘punk rock’ nature of the school makes the art work and the art practices quite unique from other art schools. Although I’m accustomed to SFAI Vernissage at Fort Mason, this particular venue offered a different view and interaction with the art. I took tons of photos and will be doing a major upload to the blog.

Hoping I can get all of those pics uploaded tonight!! ::crosses fingers::

As for the weekend ahead, it is one of my favorite times of the year – the trifecta of art fairs in San Francisco! The San Francisco Art Fair (Fort Mason), artMRKT (The Concourse), and ArtPad (The Phoenix Hotel)! This is such an exciting time for art critics, writers, and bloggers in the city!! I actually searched on Google for “Brain on Art” and found the image above! I don’t have to say this but there will be a lot of right side going on and maybe, for those with deep and generous pockets at these art fairs…the picture to the left may apply. Overall, I will be reporting on the arts fairs through ZERO1 so be on the look out for my recaps on the weekend events early next week. I’ll definitely post slide shows to my blog!!

From left to right: Holland Cotter, A (very) excited and smiley Dorothy, and Bill Berkson

Founder and director of Art Practical, Patricia Maloney invited me to attend a reception at the Asian Art Museum to meet Holland Cotter! HOLLAND COTTER! Okay, if you don’t know who Holland Cotter is, please don’t feel bad. I told my Mom, she smiled, saw my elation, and politely asked, “Who is Holland Cotter?” Mr. Cotter is a New York Times art critic awarded with the 2009 Pulitizer Prize for Criticism. He also sits on the Board of Directors for the International Association of Art Critics. You can learn more about him here. Oh, AND, he is one of the nicest men I’ve ever met. Humble and incredibly kind. I was at a loss for words. I really was BUT I got up the nerve to ask for a picture. I couldn’t stop smiling. He repeated my name and said, “I will look for you”. WHAT?!?! Wow. I know he’s swamped with work and other aspiring art writers and critics contact him all the time but to meet him and have him get a sense of my excitement, enthusiasm, and passion for art criticism and listening to him share similar sentiments about the art writing process was simply amazing. I spoke with and met formally, Bill Berkson, an American poet, writer, art critic, and teacher. A few years ago, I took a writing workshop for emerging art writers (facilitated by Art Practical and The Lab) and he sat in on a panel with Whitney Chadwick (art history scholar and very nice – LOVE her!) and remember him sharing the advice, “Write as if you are writing to an intelligent friend that doesn’t take BS!” I have tried to stay true to that adage. Again, it was an incredible feeling to meet and chat with these writers! Most importantly, being invited to this event and meeting the Art Practical editorial staff was phenomenal. What a talented, mega intelligent, and fun group!! As I’ve mentioned to friends, I’m indebted to one of my art heroes, Patricia Maloney, and her team for allowing me to hone my writing skills over the past two years and include me in on such an unforgettable evening. 🙂

OKAY, OFF to go see some performance art by another art hero and mentor, Jenifer Wofford at the SOEX!

Author: Dorothy R. Santos

Dorothy R. Santos (b. 1978) is a Filipina-American writer, editor, curator, and educator whose research interests include new media and digital art, activism, artificial intelligence, and biotechnology. Born and raised in San Francisco, California, she holds Bachelor’s degrees in Philosophy and Psychology from the University of San Francisco, and received her Master’s degree in Visual and Critical Studies at the California College of the Arts. She serves as one of the editors-in-chief for Hyphen magazine. Her work appears in art21, Art Practical, Daily Serving, Rhizome, Hyperallergic, and SF MOMA's Open Space. She has lectured at the De Young museum, Stanford University, School of Visual Arts, and more. Her essay “Materiality to Machines: Manufacturing the Organic and Hypotheses for Future Imaginings,” was published in The Routledge Companion to Biology in Art and Architecture (2016). She is currently a Yerba Buena Center for the Arts fellow researching the concept of citizenship. She also serves as executive staff for the Bay Area Society for Art & Activism and board member for the SOMArts Cultural Center.

2 thoughts on “The Trifecta of Art Fairs ~ SF Arts Fair | artMRKT | ArtPad & EXCITING STUFF”

  1. When it comes to “Who is Holland Cotter?”, I’m right where your Mom is at.

    But wonderfully, even through a flat, one-dimensional picture, I can see that the one to your left and right exude just what you say- sensitivity, humility.

    Your high regard for them is well-placed, and no doubt, they obviously value your patronage, contributions, and your scintillating presence.

    1. It was a real treat meeting Holland Cotter. I can’t believe I had the opportunity to chat with him (even for a little bit). He’s really sweet. A really gracious man. So is Bill Berkson. It was nice to formally meet him and NOT have to see him from afar. It means a lot to me when you meet a hero and they’re wonderful, just as you may have hoped. I’ve met heroes who turned out to be completely the opposite (mean spirited and not very kind at all) so it’s all the more amazing when one of your heroes really is just that…someone worth the admiration and time. I love Holland Cotter!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

