Forget about being an art writer and theorist…

I think I might have found my new calling…

I would LOVE two G's right about now...that could mean a number of things but I'm talking specifically about money.

I’m a huge fan of hip hop and listen to it before I need to do anything that needs my full attention and presence (yes, including art writing). Naturally, anything around hip hop and rap intrigues me. So, I couldn’t help but take a picture of this (of all places, IN HAYES VALLEY – What tha?). I’m so tempted to call and find out a bit more about this said rap content BUT trying to muster the courage.

Author: Dorothy R. Santos

Dorothy R. Santos (b. 1978) is a Filipina-American writer, editor, curator, and educator whose research interests include new media and digital art, activism, artificial intelligence, and biotechnology. Born and raised in San Francisco, California, she holds Bachelor’s degrees in Philosophy and Psychology from the University of San Francisco, and received her Master’s degree in Visual and Critical Studies at the California College of the Arts. She serves as one of the editors-in-chief for Hyphen magazine. Her work appears in art21, Art Practical, Daily Serving, Rhizome, Hyperallergic, and SF MOMA's Open Space. She has lectured at the De Young museum, Stanford University, School of Visual Arts, and more. Her essay “Materiality to Machines: Manufacturing the Organic and Hypotheses for Future Imaginings,” was published in The Routledge Companion to Biology in Art and Architecture (2016). She is currently a Yerba Buena Center for the Arts fellow researching the concept of citizenship. She also serves as executive staff for the Bay Area Society for Art & Activism and board member for the SOMArts Cultural Center.

4 thoughts on “Forget about being an art writer and theorist…”

    1. Thanks, Rosemary! Quite honestly, I posted the picture as a joke. I am curious and would love to learn more about this Rap Contest. If I have time, I might just call. One of my friends, saw the same posting and was very curious.

    1. Hee hee. Thanks, Alyse! Honestly, the flyer is a work of art! That’s the reason why I took a picture of it. It’s in the strangest place (the lamp post next to Smitten Ice Cream and the mobile Museum of Craft). I couldn’t help but post it. After thinking about it though, I would love a collaboration with Hennessey Youngman. I would so sing the hook or even right a couple of verses.

Leave a Reply

